back pressure questions

mopar or no car

OK, so when I was in college I was taught that a turbo gave a diesel enough back pressure to run any length or diameter straight exhaust (hood stack, 5" straight, 4" duals). I have read some claims that running a good muffler gives a little better power and mpg. Recently talked to a guy bout how I was thinking of trying a dual 5" system to have a lower, deeper tone, but he told me that it wouldn't have enough back pressure. I am new to common rails, so not sure if it applies more to the new technology or is this just some people's opinions. I always thought that the manifold outlet was the main restriction and that you wanted to get the exhaust out and away ASAP to lower egts.

Can someone shed some light on this and explain where more or less back pressure is good?

jesus the **** people believe

appropriately sized mufflers have a negligible effect on a turbocharged engine

Last edited:
overly large pipes with a splitter yields MORE backpressure than a properly sized pipe

how's your mind? blown?

And this is because a properly sized pipe will help with scavenging/drawing the exhaust out right?

Everything I was always taught was bigger, free-er, less restricted for efficiency, mpg, and lower egts. Drive pressure should provide more than enough back pressure.

Oh my . . .

Put whatever size you want with a muffler or without. You won't notice any difference except sound.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

So who has proof of scavenging effect on an exhaust system that has an interruption between the valves and the exhaust?
You have to have frequency/pulsation to scavenge.

Squeaky Wheel

correct, it's not a scavenging thing, it's the way the exhaust stalls and eddys in oversize pipe vs. maintaining good velocity

the divider hurts

correct, it's not a scavenging thing, it's the way the exhaust stalls and eddys in oversize pipe vs. maintaining good velocity

the divider hurts