Best way to plumb a WG

milldog

Yup...
I am new to external wastegates and would like to know the best way to hook up the boost lines. I am running a HE351/S475 set with a Tial 38mm WG. The wg came with a .9bar spring and I am using that for a starting point. I have overall boost going into the side port of the wg adjusted by a boost elbow. Is this the best way and change springs if I have to? Or should I run it into the top and let drive pressure open it up by pushing on the seat(guessing it would open when DP becomes greater than overall+13.05psi). I am thinking the second way would over speed my secondary. Not to sure which way would be best to save the stocker from the excessive DP"s. Open for all suggestions. Thanks guys!

We plumb ours with drive pressure to the top combined with the spring to offset the opposing drive force on the valve face, keeping the gate closed as you build boost. Then in the bottom side we regulate in enough boost to overcome the spring/drive holding it closed to lift it at your desired point.

cool Im going to try that. Anyone have a different way they are running it?

I run regulated drive to the top, regulated boost to the bottom. I suspect you could run regulated boost to the top and top only. I haven't tried it. Maybe some others have. What you have to watch for is before the charger is spooled, you will see some pretty high backpressure, with not much boost. That might be enough to overcome the spring.
I also suspect you could try just regulated drive to the top. If I recall I think it takes 30 psi to move the piston with both springs. SO if you measure the piston diameter that will give you the force it takes to move it.