Building an insane van (long)

Flyin'Brick

Hello, I'm new to this great site and I'm hunting for some ideas for my (stupid) project..
Now that my trusty E350 cargo van's been retired from work duty (company bought me a VW:doh: :kick:) i've got the opportunity to "convert" it to a drag racer:rockwoot:
Since i've allready got some traction issues (2WD, 430rwhp/850tq thanks to DP Tuner and all kinds of drugs:bang ) and there's no place in the engine compartment i'm thinking of moving the engine back, behind the drivers seat:evil . This would gain some more weight back, and give me all the place i want for headers/turbos/exhaust/intercooler ASO...
I'm also building a 4 link rear suspension for it. Problem is there's not enough room for a drive shaft.... just an adapter plate between the tranny and the rear axle! And i still want some suspension! That's the challenge...
Any ideas how to solve this problem is greatly appreciated!!

Dang man First off welcome to the Site. Second thats a heck of a project to take on. Sorry ,but the only advise I can offer is take pictures.

Welcome.
And good luck. Sounds like quiet an undertaking.

Solid mount the rear like a top fuel car.. It would ride like doo doo, but you scould make it hook .....you could always enlarge the van "hump" behind the dash too.

Of course, you could always turn the motor around and use a V drive like in fuel boats and wheelie trucks/vans

I know on the old mid engine dodge vans and econolines and stuff they could get a driveshaft that was ust a few inches long to work with a minimal travel suspension arrangement, the other idea could be to use a conversion plate from destroked or something and run a short tailshaft tranny (I think they make short shaft turbo 400s?) Wouldn't be cheap, but your project doesn't sound cheap either =)

Sounds like a cool project. Maybe "Custom Enlarge" the engine compartment lol

Thanks for the replies!