fire ring delete

turbotory

finely started tearing down my motor getting rid of those leaky fire rings. its been about 3 months sense I brought this up last time. I have to figure out what im goin to do about those grooves in the heads. any ideas?

Might need new heads, but not sure. Who's fire rings do you have? I've been running hypermax's fire rings for over 3 years now with no issues.

elite, last time we talked about leaky rings they said they had a new gasket and ring combinations. they were waiting on new rings never hered back from them. I didn't call ether to check on them.

Alot of people don't like rings and say it's not needed on these motors. Others have had issues with them also. Maybe they aren't really needed, but at the time i was doing my studs, injectors, and fuel system with the cab off(which was about 4 years ago), i thought it'd be a good idea to do fire rings seeing as there were alot of issues with blown head gaskets on these engines. Now, guys are saying bad things about rings, i just hope i don't have any issues with mine, but like i said...i've had mine for over 4 years now with no problems.

I looked into rings, Elite Rings. I was told by elite that under 600 hp you don't need them. Also was "told" by someone at Elite that they were having issues with their rings, more specifically the metal in their rings. They weren't crushing correctly and that's the issue for the leaky rings. None of this is fact, just what I've been told by "someone" at Elite.

So have you tried contacting Elite yet to see if they have "new" rings, or to see what they have come up with?

I had to buy new heads..Like I said in the other thread, the machine shop told me they could mill the heads to remove the ring groove, but they would then have to sink the valves, which wasn't a problem, I just felt better about buying new heads, even thought my wallet didn't, i just didn't want to take any chances.