Flexalite Electric fans

i've heard the same but haven't really gotten a clear reason why, seems like they'd be better since they flow more air but i'm no expert so there must be something i'm missing

In Diesel Power the put these on their project 12 valve and it raised their mpg's by 3. Sounds pretty good to me, but was also wondering why they recommend no heavy towing.

i've heard the same but haven't really gotten a clear reason why, seems like they'd be better since they flow more air but i'm no expert so there must be something i'm missing

The stock fan flows 10,000+cfm. The flex a lites don't flow near that much. Flex a lite themselves even recommends not towing heavy with them.

Hey guys, I did the writeup on the dually. Actual mileage was 1-3mpg more, but it was always higher than my previous readings. The mileage testing was all freeway and the fans were set to come on at about 200 degrees to save on alternator drag, which meant they never came on. We did a tow test up a 6% grade at 70mph with 8000 lbs and the truck got up to 220 degrees in two minutes, so I would be leery towing with them. The truck got hot, but it never did actually overheat. Let me know if you have any other questions.

I run a dual setup on my 95. its only got a 5.7 and i hate the fact i sold my clutch fan and shroud. THEY SUCK. if my truck sets, it will burry the needle in the summer. winter times it still gets hot and tends to run hot, and im running a 180* t stat. i have a sweet set of Spal Fans laying in my shop for it, build in shrouds s blade fans, i just need a big block radiator...

I wouldnt recommend from experience unless its bein used as a pushed to help stock, that would be about it. also would the loss of CFM hurt your intercooler or anything from working at 100%?

Here is the link for the thread I stated when I did mine last June.

http://competitiondiesel.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11016