Gonna Dyno The Truck Saturday....Advice PLZ??

m_reynolds

Exactly what the title says....I was just wondering the best way to go about it....I get 5 runs and I drive my own truck. I know to dyno in 5th gear, but my question is this....do I need to brake to put a load on the engine and build boost, then drop the hammer....or do I just need to have it in the lower rpms and drop the hammer with out applying the brake??

this is my first time on the dyno....

also, what gear should i use....Ive read to use 5th and ive also read to use 6th....??

Also, I am open to opinions on what HP/TQ you guys think I will lay down as well....Thanks

Dont they have people that run your truck for you where you live?

Thats how most of the dyno places are around here...

ive seen both ways get the rpms low and floor it and then hold the break and start spooling the turbo then let er go. I believe wen you dont hold the break you get better hp but when you hold the break you get better torque at least thats what i have noticed a couple times and on how much hp you will be cranking im assuming you have the 4.10 so i would guess about 400 maybe 425 but torque you should do really well espically if you get your turbo to lite fairly early like 900-950. Also im assuming you have stock tires

ive seen both ways get the rpms low and floor it and then hold the break and start spooling the turbo then let er go. I believe wen you dont hold the break you get better hp but when you hold the break you get better torque at least thats what i have noticed a couple times and on how much hp you will be cranking im assuming you have the 4.10 so i would guess about 400 maybe 425 but torque you should do really well espically if you get your turbo to lite fairly early like 900-950. Also im assuming you have stock tires

i am running 3:55 gears and running 285/75 R16 tires