Home-Made SS Intake Horn (w/PICS)

fjbiker86

Ok, got done making this recently and was wondering on what you guys like or dislike about it? It has 3 welded on 1/8” bungs, welded on bracket for dipstick, and welded on tab stops for IC boot. Does not have mount for wiring harness ( I did put a bolt through the wiring harness brackets to hold them together) . I am pretty new to tig welding so the welds could be much better.

Intake10.jpg
[/IMG]

Intake11.jpg
[/IMG]

Intake7.jpg

looks impressive! better than I can do with a tig!

Lavon

Thanks for the compliments!! Judging by the seat of the pants meter, not where it should. It almost seems like it gained power up top. But according to dyno results from other people with aftermarket horns the hp improvements where down low. I still need to dyno it to see if there are any real gains or losses.

Thanks for the compliments!! Judging by the seat of the pants meter, not where it should. It almost seems like it gained power up top. But according to dyno results from other people with aftermarket horns the hp improvements where down low. I still need to dyno it to see if there are any real gains or losses.

Smoother flow and more volume at lower pressure

Looks like the intake onna 1900hp engine I saw in a Diesel Power magazine...good, straight to the point engineering. Good work.

Ooop's, mistake on my part, only 1149hp. March '09 Diesel Power, p74.

thinking about selling these? I'd buy one if the price was right, looks good!!

I am gonna be building another one for my dad and I have some extra material for the flange..but right price, im not sure what that would be at the moment????? got any ideas?? Stainless is not cheap! And the next one I make is going to have a water jetted flange (instead of plasma).

anything cheaper then banks, cfm or ats, i'd say round 180 and shipping if a man could build em for that and make sum money could sale several of them.