Im no electrician

'Powerstroke7.3

Hearing Impaired
SOOO. I will post the problem here and if you want to read the rest later then be my guest. Just a series of events leading up to the tragedy. I fried something installing this TC lockup and now my speedo, tach, wont work and I cant get to overdrive. Not a fuse. We checked all of them under the hood and in the cab. I have no clue where to start.

:cheer:GO ME!!!!!!!

I will be the first to tell ya I'm no electrician. I don't mess with wires. If I can avoid them, then the better off the world would be. Even in my job as an aircraft mechanic I am supposed to know how to wire but I try to stay away. So when installing this TC lockup that I wanted I enlisted the help of a good friend of mine who is great at this stuff. Only thing was I got a handle of crown to make the job a little more enjoyable. So we started drinking and after a hard nights work no food and a half gallon of whiskey we started the project. The wiring looks immaculate. I really mean it. Its beautiful. To do a job like that with anti interference wire, heat shrink, fire/heat proof conduit, so on and so forth takes alot of time. By the time we got to the switch we were WASTED. I bought a switch and it just so happened to have a light in it. Hooking power to that light is where we went terribly wrong since this is essentially a dual ground system.

dual ground system? not sure what that means. and i havent put in a lockup switch so i dont know how it wires in, but i cant see it bieng to technical. maby a fuseable link somewhere you havent found. best thing to do is get the shop manual and look at the wiring schematics.

Do you mean you put 12v on one side and the other to the torque converter? Ouch. I hope not. I'll see if I can get into some manuals and look around a bit. It's the truck in your sig., right?

A switch with a light wont work. You just need to ground the system.