Need to advise a friend, Edge?

nrose07

I love high sulfur
Buddy has a 01' Excursion bone stock. Wants gauges and abit more power, not wild just a few mpg and 50-75hp. My first thought was a Edge with color screen, but I realize that they don't reprogram the tranny. So on the cheap, what does gauges, tranny, and 50-100hp? Yes, I've searched. Thanks you!

i could be completly mistaken i'm no expert but i can't think off the top of my head of a programmer for a 7.3 that has guages and tunes the transmission. all my trucks have been manuals though and don't require anything through a tuner so there very well might be one.

Analog gauges & a 6 position chip from your choice of vendor. Thoroughbred Diesel was haven't a clearence sale on TS 6Pos chips last week for $200.

DO NOT waste money on a Edge for a 7.3L just my personal opinion.

Friends don't let friends buy an edge for there powerstroke!

They are known to eat trannys.

Gear head all the way

tunes for friend

I love my DP tunes. A little touchy but make a huge difference in power.

Ts all the way

Only if you hate your trans. Everyone will rip on me for this, but if you want a cheap programmer with trans tuning, the old Superchips tuner is tried and true, and will outrun an off the shelf TS 6 position while running cleaner and cooler, and get better mileage. That is based on my own personal experience.

Also the TS 6 position is notorious for frying ECM's, I have personally seen this happen 3 times with the TS, on different trucks, in real life. I didn't just read and repeat this like half the people on here..

I have the cts evolution and love it!!!!! But I cheated and had power hungry performance do my tunes lol

what got smoke said and the 6 pos switches dont fry ecms put many of them in and no problems at all.DONT BUY AN EDGE WASTE OF $.

6 postion chip and egt, trans and boost gauge is by far the best option. I wouldn't run dp tunes imo.