New motor break in tips

Jamesmoore554

In process of motor rebuild and was wondering best ways possible to break it in so rings seat and everything seats properly. Im still new to most of this. Thanks!

No prolonged idling, no constant rpm, and no heavy hauling, for the first 5000 miles or 50 hours. Use conventional oil for break in oil, no synthetic. WOT is OK for short bursts but not for extended periods. Otherwise than that drive as u normally would and enjoy.

In the Cummins owners manual it says tow heavy before the first 4000 miles or the motor will not get seated properly.

No prolonged idling, no constant rpm, and no heavy hauling, for the first 5000 miles or 50 hours. Use conventional oil for break in oil, no synthetic. WOT is OK for short bursts but not for extended periods. Otherwise than that drive as u normally would and enjoy.

Incorrect.

You want a constant load on the motor. Avoid steady RPM's for extended times. Hook up to a fairly light trailer and hit some hills. Keep the boost and egts up.

I just broke in my fresh 6.4 build...after cam break-in, on a loaded dyno for 8-WOT runs for 90-sec each. Got it nice and hot...let it cool, wash rinse, repeat. After an additional 1,000miles, zero blowby.

That was under the direction, and observation of a Cummins certified mechanic.

If it is washing the oil off the walls, it wouls seal it quicker.

But. I have always loaded a fresh engine and worked it to seal it.
Clean up the smoke though! It does you no good and most likely it runs slower with smoke.

You want a constant load on the motor. Avoid steady RPM's for extended times. Hook up to a fairly light trailer and hit some hills. Keep the boost and egts up.

I agree with the above.

My practice has always been: