Piston/valve clearance

ccoxva

Loafer
How many thous. tolerance should one have on factory engine. Hamilton cam but I think they are factory lift. I'm collapsing push rods and cant figure out why after new hg install.

Are both intake and exhaust pushrods collapsing or just one or the other?

Dude it might be a good idea to go ahead and pull the head, if your bending the push rods due to PTV contact you are definately going to end up with a broken valve. And that is extremely costly, I know personally.

This is my first time letting a guy work on any of my cummins' and now this is happening to me. I went to test drive it Monday after the mechanic said it was fixed. Drove it 1/2mile and it started pecking when it got warm. Something is puting so much pressure on those pushrods that its collapsing them right under were the rocker ball sits in the socket on the pushrod.(were the shaft starts). I'm thinking since this was a reman engine to start w/ that the block has been decked and .004 off the head combined with the standard gasket the company sent in the warranty package is causing the prob.

There's a lot of factors that it can be. Valve to head resestion, piston grade {protrution}, installed valve height. Did they deck the block? Dids the person that installed the cam get the gear off 1 tooth? It would be wise to pull the head and clay the cylinders to check clearance.

Last edited:
Cam is correct the engine had zero valvetrain probs till the hg job.