Rattle after freshen and ditching tappet cover diaper

rattlebox93

Has anyone diched the tappett cover diaper and noticed a pretty constant subsiquant rattle from the engine? It gets real notacable above 1500 and seems to be at its loudest when left in gear and the throttle backed off of using the engine as a brake thanks in advance dj

do you have pictures of said "diaper"??? :poke: my guess is you removed something that was designed to deaden the sound of the engine. in doing so you only made it louder than it already is. :bang if you removed a piece of foam from the blow by tube that was designed to keep the oil in the engine instead of running on the ground out of the blow by tube, then i suggest you put it back.

Username....rattlebox....removed diaper and found source of babies rattle! LOL LOL

Yea diaper i work on cats for a living ther have that crap over the whole engine block and it is commonly referd too among cat tecs as the "diaper" wich in the cat work does more soaking up of oil than sound deadning this is cats take on oil leaks " seals fix leaks paint fixes seaps" hense the tearm diaper and yes i removed the nasty ass oil soaked sound deadning foam rubber pos from the tappett cover.... I was just wondering does that make a pretty noticable increase in engine noise? When they come off the old cats it dont really make much of a diff but they are such rattly pos anyway ps sorry about spelling im on my iphone me and touch screens dont get along

do you have pictures of said "diaper"??? :poke: my guess is you removed something that was designed to deaden the sound of the engine. in doing so you only made it louder than it already is. :bang if you removed a piece of foam from the blow by tube that was designed to keep the oil in the engine instead of running on the ground out of the blow by tube, then i suggest you put it back.