Seriously considering a 4" lift

Wyatt Earp

Owner / Diesel Geek
Hi guys,

As some of you know I'm in the parts biz. That said, I've got zero experience when it comes to lift kits. I've never owned a truck with one and have only ever driven a couple.

What do I need to look for, watch out for, know before purchasing a kit for a "sort of stock" 2002 on 285's?

Brands?
Designs?

End result - might take 2 years to get there is to have the truck sit on 315's or bigger, a bolt on fender flare with mud flap and a 4" lift. I don't really have plans as of yet to get larger rims and make the truck look too pimped out but if that is easier then I will consider it. I have 354 gears and will, if needed, swap them out to keep the power to the ground. If I go larger than I will likely install a set of AMP steps as well.

:thankyou2:

How big of a tire do you want to run?? With a leveling kit you can run 315's all day long with no problems. I run a true 34" tire with no lift on the goat, but it is a very narrow tire and it's close.

What I'm getting at here is how big of a tire do you want to stick under the truck? Once you know that you can lift accordingly.

I run 315's (35s) with no lift at all. I get minor scrubbage on the lower control arm at full lock.

Lifts kit are easy to install but, can be costly depending on the brand. Oversized tires want hurt especially some 315's but, try to find some tires with a less-aggressive sidewall, just in case they do rub.

Like I said, I run 285's with no rubbing at all on stock height. Because things up here in Canada cost considerably more than they do down south I'm exploring my options.

I think I'll steer clear (no pun intended) of the leveling kits - I've heard scary things about handling so far. This may be a result of the owner not having the correct setup like a DSS and or Luke's Links or something of that nature.

I plan on doing both of those first just for safe measure.