Ship Date is 20090420 - MCRD San Diego

CumminsPOWER

"I'll go all in."
Very excited! After a year of diesel tech school, I decided I could not wait until after to join the Marine Corps. With my dad being a retired Marine of 24 years, 2 uncles, a cousin, and another cousing at San Diego right now, its been a long time coming! Wish I wouldn't have waited this long!

Sempi Fi

I shipped to MCRD Paris Island 31 years ago in June

Good luck... I know a few hats over there... want me to get you some extra training?:badidea: :hehe:

0311 ..infantry baby! Try and get automotive organizational mechanic...will give you some experience working on diesels. I graduated october 13, 1999 from MCRD San Diego. I think that MOS is 3521. Good luck.
ooh-rah

I want Infantry bad, Top was talking about some sort of infantry support MOS... I don't want to be support though.

My old man would like to see me go aviation, since he was a 46 mech and crew chief.

as we used to call it ...swinging with the wing...usually more relaxed atmosphere, good guys. Could also try and be an electronics technician. You need to be careful about what MOS you do. I wouldn't recommend going on open contract because they can stick you wherever they want you. You need to plan ahead. Think of things out in the real world that the Marine Corps can help you with. That's why I recommended you do the Motor T MOS. Not only that, make sure you have your recruiter get you the college fund in addition to the G.I. Bill. I'm sure things have changed since I got out, but you'll realize you could've got yourself a better deal once you get out of boot camp. Being a Marine is important...But, more importantly is planning for the future. Just trying to give you some insight as to how things work. I wish someone would've told me before I just signed up and shipped out. Call me if you want to. 513.313.9757.
JJ

1800, Combat Support. That can be one of like 3 MOS's... 0811: Artillery, 1831: AMTracks, or 1812: M1A1 Tank Crewman.