Smarty vs PPE HOT

973604x4

aka landphil
dynoed 9-08-07 at Houston Performance.

Smarty layed down 546.31hp on level 9, then backed it up with a 542.74hp run.

Re-programmed while strapped to the dyno.

PPE HOT did 579.52hp, then again at 579.08hp.

I wanted to download Crazy Larry and go again but I was kicked off the dyno :hehe:

Next time I'll compare PPE and Bullydog. Smarty is out of the question :woohoo:

I have no personal experience with the PPE but from what I understand by talking to a couple 3rd gen racers it is the ticket for the quickest time.

yfz04drt said:
If I could of hung around longer, you could of tried mine.

I had one with me ready to go but after all the problems with tubing, they made me get of the dyno

Keep raising the bar and we will top it no question in my mind.

thanks phil

24VChevy said:
What SW version of the Smarty were you running?

Aftermarket injector program with stock turbo straight off the website. I then used a boost fooler since it works better on my truck that way. I have to use stock torque management. Truck isn't driveable any other way.

Ya, you should try the Beta 4.4 I think you might get better results. I dyno'd 700+ on Diesel and spraying washer fluid.

24VChevy said:
Ya, you should try the Beta 4.4 I think you might get better results. I dyno'd 700+ on Diesel and spraying washer fluid.

Well, glad you are special enough to get the program. :poke:

Good info, Phil. I am trying to decide between the Bully Dog and the PPE. Post it up when you get those two compared. I may just order both and try them back to back.

How is the drivability with the PPE? I know the Smarty causes issues on some trucks, how is the ppe for driving?

Last edited:
SmokinCummins said:
Good info, Phil. I am trying to decide between the Bully Dog and the PPE. Post it up when you get them two compared. I may just order both and try them back to back.