VP pistons in a 12v???

turbominivan

has anyone done this and what are your thoughts on it?

i have a 12v in a rat rod that i broke the edge off of #3 the other day.

i have a full set of 24v VP pistons i was thinking to swap in.

is this worth while? bad idea? im kinda new to the internals/combustion aspect of things.

my current issue....

IMG_0246.jpg

VP piston on the left, 94 12v piston on the right.

IMG_0346.jpg

the reason im considering this is because of the VPs larger bowl, as well as its thicker top ring land (its about 3/32" larger between the face and the top ring groove... from my eye balls best measurement)

my general specs are in my sig below if that helps deciding factors. i know there is alot that goes into deciding on a piston design that works best, just looking for info on what others have done and why, with what set up.

Last edited:
You can also get custom injectors made to work with a 12V head but that's expensive.

With decent timing it will work, even just dropping it in. I would rather see the bowl delipped however. An ever better setup would be 04-07 pistons with a 155° injector, but that would loose the top ring landing gap your looking for.

if i remember right, i think im running 23* or 25* timing.

what about cutting the 12v bowl open a bit? i hear of people doign this but im not sure of all the reasons for it. perhaps i should look into this?
i have a theory in my head about using an old piston as a 'jig' and being able to use a router and cut all 6 pistons open the same while they are still in the block.

Last edited:
I have had that discussion before. Seems a narrower cone angle performs better on the engine dyno, but the wide angle still performs on the track. Hard to get accurate testing done on the track however (sled pulling). Had talked about maybe it was something to do with loading the motor differently. Maybe its the high timing/narrow angle with over fueling that is the benefit.