what size tubing?? #locoMOTIVE

FMackey

Im drawing up some plans for a project Im calling #locoMOTIVE

ame]

My first question is what size tubing do you guys think I should make the frame out off?

Its gonna have an 8.3L Cummis with an 10 speed, military axles, and built to tow 30,000lbs.

Looks like something sellerz would build. Ditch the stack, mud tires, big suspension, and it might be good for 30k pounds.

HaHa. my day job is heavy haul with a big rig...grossing over 100K any day of the week. so Im pretty sure Ive got a level head when it comes to weight. I might not ever load this truck up to that but at least it aught to be able to hold its own if somebody like sellerz ever challenges me. but thats beside the point.

Im gonna go down to United Supply and see what the biggest stock is they have.

And by the way, those ain't no puny mud tires. Those are 11r24.5 commercials which happen to be about 44 inches tall. But they still won't make this truck as tall as my semi

Why lift a truck stupid high, if you intend to tow?
I think it would look 100x better and be more functional at a "normal" height.

I'm digging it! 'cept for maby the stacks, but it's your truck. Build it however you want.

If your going for a truss style frame use 2 1/2 dom tube or if you want simpler you could use 3x8x3/8 rectangular tube like we used to use on leaf spring monster trucks. Guessing your planning on five ton axles for the right bolt pattern for those 24.5's you should have no problem towing #30,000 with your power train.

Thank you gorilla550 for actually contributing to the thread. I have no idea why most people in the world think they have to spout out their opinions even though they ain't even remotely relevant to the subject.

But I don't mind responding right now...just cause I'm bored....and don't mind watching the drama.