Whats more restrictive, stock intercooler or stock head, 2nd gen 12v

ctk30

I'm curious if anyone has done some testing

I have another engine that had the KDP fail out but the parts are good. My thought was to port out the head, and do a valve job. Reason being is that my truck has 325k and I don't want to worry about the stock head gasket, so I'm not going to swap a stock head on.

Background is my turbo took a ****, so that is where my oil consumtion issue was coming from, I am new to the turbo game and didn't look into the in and out play on my turbo and drove around with it till I noticed it started smoking, no failure though.

Moral of the story after much thought I talked myself out of a 62/65/12 and just pulled the trigger on a super b single.

I don't have high hp aspirations, but I do want something that is reliable and can hop in and not have to worry about it whether I'm towing or not. When I'm towing I'm pulling around 12k pounds with a good amount of drag

Now to the thread

Basically, I am wondering where the restriction is? Is the stock intercooler restrictive enough where porting the head won't make a difference in my case of towing egt's and lowering boost?

I plan on installing the turbo on my stock manifold and driving for awhile and then porting out my second manifold on and swapping it that on and seeing the difference

I've been searching quite a bit and really haven't found much that is relevant to my goals

edit: may have jumped the gun

Intercooler Field Testing - Page 2 - Competition Diesel.Com - Bringing The BEST Together

Last edited:
You're looking at it wrong....BOTH are restrictions, however the cylinder cannot change state, it will keep trying to flow whatever air it is given. The intercooler however can stop being as effective at intercooling, which I guess is the point I was trying to get at in the other thread.