Semi tagging ?

gearhart73

I'm wondering what the people do for tags when they put their competition vehicles behind a semi either on an open or enclosed trailer. I've been thinking about getting a drop van trailer for my truck and a truck with a sleeper to go on the front of it and I'm debating on what to tag it as. I hear people say tag it as an RV but I'm a farmer and will use the truck on the farm some. Some people say tag it commercial but then I have the higher cost of tags and insurance plus medical cards and log books. Then if I tag it as a farm truck I'm technically not suppose to be out of a certain radius from home and I do a good bit of traveling that would far exceed that. So what do I do? Tag it farm and play dumb if I get stopped or tag if RV and hope I don't run into problems using it on the farm? What all is involved if getting a semi tagged as an RV?

Contact your local State Police post and talk with the DOT people to see what the best route for you to go, farm or RV. Just remember that the word HOBBY is your friend. And never tell them you sell anything like T-Shirts or that you have any monetary sponsors.

I know I'm outside the farm range 10+ times a year. I went clear it Missouri last year so that wouldn't even be close. And I know not to say that I make any money off of it if I tag it RV. I'm just trying to figure out the best route to go about it. I've been told that the popo are becoming more picky on this

Farm in OK is 150 mile radius. But don't go that route either, you still have to comply with DOT regs like triangle, DOT #s, extinguishers, etc (I know, I got inspected :bang).

Go towards the Recreational Vehicle with a "Not for Hire" placard. It's probably your best bet, but as mentioned, it varies by state.