Dragster length

crabbelle

Banned
in my searching i see lengths rangin from 205"-240". is it just for stability? or classes? since my dad is rebuilding the elcamino from his wreck, he is putting all kinds of ideas in my head. im looking at one thats 225":tree:

Last edited:
Yup, primarily for stability, although for some classes it also helps to keep them from wheelstanding and it also puts your tires in a better spot on the launch pad (particularly if too many street cars have torn up the pad where short wheelbase cars launch from).

What are you planning to do with the dragster (i.e., what classes)? What kind of powerplant, trans and power levels? I'm no dragster expert, but I do have a lot of friends with them. It seems that most bracket and S/C dragsters these days are 4-link or swing-arm, but there are still some hardtail and slip joint cars out there doing well. Some of the REALLY fast ones in T/D are going away from 4-link and swing arm, I guess I haven't looked closely enough to see if they are complete hard-tail or if they have slip joints. Another issue is front suspension (whether or not to have it).

Back in the early days of S/C it seemed that all the competitive cars were shorter (185" to 210"), presumably because of reaction time on the pro tree. The advances in trans brakes has allowed longer cars to work on the pro tree.

About the only dragster I have any potential interest in is a "shorty". The LandShark is a 185" model that looks pretty cool, and I have heard of people building similar cars as short as 125" wheelbase (where the driver's feet are over the front axle). I guess I'm just a door car guy at heart...

my plans are for a 24v. but i have to do more research. i just want to have enough power to go faster than the guy next to me