Nitrous, Wastegates, & Turbo Death

On the SPS 66, I don't consider it anything like laggy but I do know how to tune a 12V and it's now about smoke or huge smoke to spool a turbo up! This is the same turbo I have been running for over 2 years, I first had it with a Big Brother in Twins, but went to a single last summer and had a small N2O system given to me. The one and only time I dynoed with it I was at 611 On #2 only with 370's and 791 with N2O, this was with no water/meth as it did light off (another issue that day) and the N2O is an .063 solenoid with no jet!

The next time I went to the dyno (load dyno) I was at 591 on #2 when the cam snapped......good times, so never got a chance to really tune it when everything was working right........motor tuned to perfection, water/meth working right, bottle warmed up to 1150 psi ect and with the big injectors....that was the plan that day (2 sets of 3 pulls).

I was concerned about the boost level on the bottle (62) so I had Shane do me a ported housing up, that dropped it back to 55 but if I add the big injectors now it's back to 60........and runs just as crazy as it can be......a second stage would be insane.

Jim

12 Valves spool turbos best, CR second and the 24 is a distant third.

Duke is @ 5000' ASL. Spool up chages are dramatic up there.

Don M said:
12 Valves spool turbos best, CR second and the 24 is a distant third.

Duke is @ 5000' ASL. Spool up chages are dramatic up there.
What causes that and what makes each of the three work better/worse?

I have a friend here in Denver that runs one of the very first 66s Shane built on his 500hp CR. It defintely spooled a little better for him that it did for me. That said, it was still a lot slower to get moving than my b1-2 or my 64/14.

Well, 12v's just pour the fuel in to spool them!
CR's squirt fuel at "just" the right time to spool them nicely!