Pumpkin truck build thread

overboosted

I got this truck for a good solid project as of a few days ago my A518 transmission decided to kill itself. so now the build starts. Since i am a broke college student I have to build the truck with my brain, not my wallet. This is also my first diesel build so any suggestions you have im all ears and more than willing to learn. Here is what i got so far.
IMG_20120224_114413.jpg

I dropped the pan and discovered my transmission was nice and pink. :nail:
IMG_20120322_151643.jpg
A little research into it and i decided to scrap the heat exchanger to avoid this problem again. This is a summer only truck so i am not worried about cold starting and winters.
P.O.S.!
IMG_20120322_151638.jpg

This is my first time doing my own transmission rebuild and so far its not nearly as complicated as i thought. The A518 is a pretty simple transmission though. upon tear down i discovered this.
IMG_20120307_164541.jpg

surprisingly all the clutches and bands did not look to bad. but im not going to chance it since they did get exposed to the nasty coolant.

Since I decided to yank out the heat exchanger i wanted another source of a cooler. I am going to pull the truck as much as i can this summer and need to keep this transmission alive until i can afford the nv4500 swapp. So this is where building with my brain instead of my wallet comes in.
I cannot afford a good A/W intercooler for the truck, which on my previous race car I put my transmission cooler in the bottom of the ice box. i wanted to do somthing similar to this set up so i came up with this idea.

Beer window
IMG_20120321_200337.jpg

+ Beer cooler
IMG_20120321_192007.jpg

+ small B&M super cooler
IMG_20120321_192016.jpg

= one hell of a convenient trans/beer cooler!
IMG_20120321_200829.jpg

IMG_20120321_200331.jpg