6.7 L 68rfe vs. 48re

Reb.B

horsepower junkie
I thought I'd fill everybody in about my 6.7 latest info. Its a 07.5 truck, megacab longbed dually 4x4. Its got 55K on the dash and has been turned up after the first month I bought it. The last dyno was 538 hp at the wheels. Not too much, it's my wife's daily driver, she's happy, did I mention it has a 500Lbs bumper that sticks out 1.5 ft. Crazy woman with a big truck. Anyway, SMARTY went on the truck last month, and the power is crazy. I haven't dynoed yet (scared about trans) but if feels like a good 30-40 extra HP over what i had before(bullydog, boring!) and 150 extra TQ. Crazy low end power and pulling power.
I have been warning Dave Goerend for the last 4 months about tranny's when the smarty comes out. Dave has been reluctant. We've been messing with TC's for a year, but did little stuff to trans, not much. I finally pissed Dave off enough to the point that he wanted to dip deep. We did some testing and I warned Dave that with the extra power I had now the trans would be Done in a heart beat. No hard lanches is over 20K miles and no real full throttle runs. But 2 full throttle runs and the 68rfe was toaste!

I pulled the trans out the next day and saw the OD clutches, (5th and 6th) were burnt. Everything else in the trans is SOOOOOO weak. Stamped steel, thin, aluminum drums, very scary. I was worried that even if we build the trans to hold clutches from burning, that the hard parts are going to explode. I called Dave, we agreed on the trans weak parts and decided to give Ron @ Suncoast a call since he has two things: experience with 68rfe and stand alone VB for 47-48re. He agreed after 500 its going to be very hard to make the 68rfe live.

I new i could get the 48 in the truck, i had a 6.7 in front of a 48 in my 03, it would just be in a 07 now. Dave and I called Ron and got a VB and Stand alone from him. I built my 48 full billet and put the controller in.