A2W vs. No cooler

Not enough heat for good vaporization/ ignition or something?

I remember an article in diesel power mag with one of their pullers. It was featuring the 12cyl p-pump used for dual injection events. They got IATs to the 80s and said and colder they'd start losing power because it was taking the heat out of the flame.

I haven't run on the dyno at sub zero temps, but I have run both my diesels at lower than -20* F ambient and never noticed a loss of power. I'm having trouble figuring out how you can possibly increase air density and loose power but I'm a real novice compared to most people here, so maybe someone can explain the science behind this.

I know they sure sound different at -40f, couldn't tell if power was all there due to the ice though.

I haven't run on the dyno at sub zero temps, but I have run both my diesels at lower than -20* F ambient and never noticed a loss of power. I'm having trouble figuring out how you can possibly increase air density and loose power but I'm a real novice compared to most people here, so maybe someone can explain the science behind this.

Maybe something to do with a dry block?

I think they had trouble even getting the things started with the intake temps so cold...plus, kind of a pain, plus tended to hinder spooling because there wasn't any heat in anything. Also put the fire out more easily with nitrous. I know a few drag racers have tried em already.

I think they had trouble even getting the things started with the intake temps so cold...plus, kind of a pain, plus tended to hinder spooling because there wasn't any heat in anything. Also put the fire out more easily with nitrous. I know a few drag racers have tried em already.

To the best of my knowledge. This is why they wait to turn the pumps on ect till the run actually starts.