Replacing 5.9 block with 6.7

I have heard/read conflicting stories.

I also would like to know a definate answer.

6.7 short block...5.9 top end. As long as the injector spray pattern is correct for the piston bowl, should be no problems...right???

Of course I have no real world experience to help. LOL

Epically posted via Tapatalk.

It works fine. I have ran a 6.7 short block 5.9 head, ECM and 03-04 injectors no problem with over 1K hp. I currently run a 6.7 block 6.7 head and 03-04 5.9 sticks with same great results. No extra machining or voo do chit like that. Use a 6.7 MLS gasket and machine both surface's to a RA of 20-30 also pull that head down with some 625 studs for best results. The MLS will seal the steam pockets on the block no problem providing the finish meets those RA specs.

Now running 6.7 sticks in a 5.9 head without doing prior machine work to get injector to seat properly NO. I have not tried that combo yet.

I should have also noted to run billet rods with that 6.7 if you plan on giving her hell. Knowing your posts im sure that will be a everyday thing for you.

Just to be clear when I said the MLS will seal fine. I meant the 6.7 gasket will have the steam holes but seals against the 5.9 head with no holes. That only holds true providing you have that 20-30 RA finish on both surface's. You can get away with a rougher RA but its a gamble when running your stuff hard.

Anyone have pics of 5.9 vs 6.7 pistons ? Didn't they go back to non re entrant on the 6.7's like the early 5.9's used ?

I seem to remember a thread about that, largely between RonA and Smokem...but I could be wrong as usual.