7.3 L only start good when it's warm?

Rodriguez72

Hey guys I'm new to this form, I have a 02 f350 powerstroke with a 7.3, the truck after u let it sit 4-5 hours is very hard starting and you can hear the injectors are very noisy until it warms up a bit.. It acts like it loosing it's prime but my lift pump is putting out 65psi so I know that's good.. Please help? So far have replaced all glow plugs, both injector harness.

Can you hear the glow plug relay click when you turn the key forward? If the relay is bad, new plugs won't make any difference. What year truck?

The last one I saw that did that needed injectors.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

Yes I can hear the relay.. It's a 2002 and it's 85 degrees out so I didnt think the glow plugs would really matter when starting if it's that warm out.

The last one I saw that did that needed injectors.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
I hope it don't need them :( I did and injector buzz test and they all passed. That's what made me think it was the harness also it's ohm reading was higher on the harness but changing the harnesses didnt work :(

This is competition diesel not educate your ass diesel! If you don't know the abbreviations you've got a sh!t ton of learning to get done. SEARCH!

P.S. injector buzz test only tells you they buzz not that they work properly. :doh:

Last edited:
This is competition diesel not educate your ass diesel! If you don't know the abbreviations you've got a sh!t ton of learning to get done. SEARCH!

P.S. injector buzz test only tells you they buzz not that they work properly. :doh:

Ok man I'm sorry, like I said I'm new to this stuff.. Can the GPR cause it to hard start even when it's warm out? And I used the search tool and can find anything on the ICP so could ya help me out, sorry and thanks

Just a heads up.... Ford Truck Enthusiasts 7.3L forum, Ford Diesel Power, Powerstroke Army and Powerstroke Nation will have more 7.3L guys around for tech support for future info....