Triple turbos.....Lets discuss.

John Robinson

I am looking to build a set of triples for a project. Im planning at a divorced exhaust manifold setup that will have 2 small secondarys going to the primary. Target hp is 1000 hp . Instant spoolup is what we are looking for & we will still run an intercooler.
What chargers do yall think i should run? I am not a turbo engineer . I figured i would throw it out to the big brains on here & see what would come of it. Here are some pics of a setup that i think look really clean & easy

Attachments

• Triple%20Turbos.jpg
    Triple%20Turbos.jpg
    58.8 KB · Views: 241
  • GetAttachment1.jpg
    GetAttachment1.jpg
    6.2 KB · Views: 235
  • GetAttachment3.jpg
    GetAttachment3.jpg
    5.9 KB · Views: 212
  • GetAttachment4.jpg
    GetAttachment4.jpg
    5.6 KB · Views: 157
looks like you using two small chargers as the small primary chargers and one big charger as the atmosphere charger. This still causes you to have to get on top of the big charger .
The advantage of using a triply charger deal is to have three small chargers with the one primary charger and two atmosphere chargers . The two smaller chargers will more as much air as one big chargers and have considerable less mass in relation to their capacity .
Shane at Industrial injection and I discussed this and he did his home work with with Borg Warner a while back, and the consensus would be to run a small S300 such as a 64 and then two other 64, as the atmosphere chargers , the key to this would be extensive wastegate control . This would be to quickly redirect the exuast gas flow around the primary charger as quick as it got to a sweet spot on its map .

Here are ones that Greg at ZZ designed and built a few years back.

4bt_project08_07.gif

4bt_project08_08.gif

4bt_project08_11.gif

4bt_project08_10.gif