500+ hp on a budget....ideas?

swerve0311

Hey guys. I'm pretty new to all this so any help would be welcomed. I'd like to see a respectable amount of HP out of my 99 and am trying to stay realistic about it. I figure I could get 500HP and keep it reliable for relatively cheap. When I say cheap I mean I have about $3500 to $4000 to throw at it. I think I have a pretty solid start and now I am toying with the idea of injectors and a combo setup. Is it realistic to think that I could achieve my goal on that budget? If so any ideas how to get there and what to get would be great! I figure I should probably start with head studs. Maybe O ring it? After that, injectors and a turbo upgrade? Possibly stack a smarty on my edge? What do you guys think? I heard that I could use my stock turbo in a compound setup. Any thoughts on that?

Bottom line is it is my DD and don't want to **** it up!

63mm charger
6x13s
studs

I relaize 6x13s might seem like a bit much injector but my VP trucks always loved a little more injector than my 12 valves.

If on a budget and can't afford to break it, then don't mess with it. Just drive it.

63mm charger
6x13s
studs

I relaize 6x13s might seem like a bit much injector but my VP trucks always loved a little more injector than my 12 valves.

You can pick up some 5x12's that will hit 500rwhp for really cheap, or some 5x14's that will go a ways past that for still less than most 6x13's.

And for 500rwhp, a lot of guys have luck with just torquing stock head bolts to 135ftlbs. Not the way I'd recommend doing it, but It's been done and done pretty reliably.

Here's what I would do.
Don't cheap out on the fuel system (grab a FASS100 or 150).
If you do studs, grab some A1 H11's (better than ARP 425 at the same price, and significantly less than ARP 625).
5x12 injectors
Grab a box stock T4 BW s363 (or grab a s467 or s475 if you want to do a compound setup, s475's can be had for cheap).