Finally Did a Drive Pressure Test

Wrightman

We are getting ready to put some new turbos on my kit and finally got around to doing a drive pressure test. It was the last thing we needed to do before we tried something new. At 50lbs of boost I was making about 80-85lbs of drive pressure.:doh: I am glad we finally checked it, we knew it was bad and now we will know what progress we make with the new set up. I may just run a single for a little while during our search for the injectors we want. I still can't hold a head gasket and I am sure this is why. I am thinking of o rings and we have the tooling to do both but don't know where to start with protrusion of the wire on a 6.0 so we will see what happens.

You may be loosing head gaskets because of your backpressure. That is a ton.

I know this is a newbie question but I am new to the compounds and am wondering what is the best drive pressure to have? Like I said I am just learning about how all this stuff works. Thanks.

I know this is a newbie question but I am new to the compounds and am wondering what is the best drive pressure to have? Like I said I am just learning about how all this stuff works. Thanks.

It doesn't matter if you are running a single, twin, compound, etc, you use the same principles. That's why the hp chargers are always wastegated in a well balanced set-up. Otherwise you end up with extremely high backpressure, low horsepower, blown head gaskets, dyno graphs that look like hills not mountains, etc.

There are other factors to consider though; compressor wheel sizes, turbine wheel sizes, compressor covers, turbine housings, how the exhaust is directed etc. Then of course you have fuel, programming, vehicle use, and a number of other factors. Making a compound set up work is easy, making it work well and the most efficiently they can, takes a lot of time and effort.