Stall Speed data log illustration - should I run a higher stall?

bgreen776

White Collar Fabricator
Attached is a data log I recorded during my best run last year. It illustrates flash stall and brake stall fairly well, or at least I think it does. (I'm no expert)

The converter is an ATS 5 Star stock stall (1800)
The engine is a stock 5.9 with a 66/484 setup, UDC tuning, and 65lpm injectors. I street drive the truck all year, but I don't haul or tow with it.

It takes me approximately 15 seconds to go from flash stall (if I am reading the log correctly) to needing to let off the throttle to keep under 23 psi. I seem to get my best launches at about 20 psi. That seems like a LONG time to build boost, and AH64ID has already put some effort into the UDC tune to help boost faster.

The two dips in boost, where I let of the throttle, are likely caused by my BOV set too sensitive. A completely different issue and I assume completely unrelated to this discussion. I just pointed it out because it looks odd and wanted to clear it up before hand.

You can see the green line rise rapidly shortly after the two dips, this is where I let off the brake and mash the throttle. The green line is vehicle speed, and the grey like that shoots straight up is TPS value. The purple line is boost. This is where my question lies. As you can see, boost builds VERY slow until I reach about 2200 rpm. Then it climbs so rapidly that I can barely control it. On this run I left the line at 2400 rpm. I have a very hard time not accidentally deep staging or even driving right through the lights.

Should I get the converter re-stalled to say... 2200? 2500? I don't want to raise my 60', but I do want less ET. I would also like to have less lag on the street. I'd also like to not spend ~25 seconds in pre-stage roasting the transmission. :p

attachment.php

Attachments

• a3.jpg
    a3.jpg
    47.6 KB · Views: 0
Time slip and Dyno chart (way low on boost during the dyno run)

attachment.php